Subcommittees

Urban Forestry Certificate
Charge: Investigate the feasibility of implementing an academic Urban Forestry Certificate at UK; Research prominent programs; Identify potential contributors; Contact Chairs/DUS’s in relevant UK departments inside and outside of CAFE.
Lead: Mary Arthur, UK Forestry (Email: marthur@uky.edu for further information)

Tree Campus USA 
Charge: Evaluate current level of involvement in the program; Develop an inclusive plan to increase UK’s involvement and recognition as a Tree Campus USA
Lead: Jerry Hart, UK Physical Plant, Arborist (Email: jphart@email.uky.edu for further information)

Adopt-a-Tree Program
Charge: Fine tune details of program; Develop a plan for implementation at multiple levels (UK, K-12, beyond)
Lead: Nic Williamson, UK Forestry (Email: nwilliamson@uky.edu for further information)

Education and Outreach 
Charge: Evaluate current level of education and outreach efforts addressing existing and emerging issues in urban forestry; Develop an inclusive plan to increase involvement on campus, in Lexington, in the Bluegrass Region, and statewide
Lead: Bridget Abernathy, Bluegrass Greensource (Email: bridget@bggreensource.org for further information)

Research Seminar Series 
Charge: Investigate interest in and feasibility of developing a broad-based seminar series focusing on various attributes of Urban Forestry, targeting Fall 2015; Identify 3-5 potential speakers; Identify potential funding sources.
Lead: Lynne Rieske-Kinney, UK Entomology (Email: lynne.rieske-kinney@uky.edu for further information)

Campus Landscaping & Education Project 
Charge: Identify means of increasing input (advisory and implementation) from the Urban Forest Initiative for current and upcoming tree-related projects impacting the campus community; maximize available expertise; identify a single near-future project in which the Urban Forest Initiative could contribute from conception to implementation.

Name Affiliation E-Mail
George Riddle Physical Plant Manager griddle@email.uky.edu
Bert Abbott FHC Albert.abbott@uky.edu
Ann Bowe LFUCG Tree Board Member annbowe@annbowedesigns.com
Dave Leonard Dave Leonard Arborists dave@dlarborist.com
Lynne Rieske-Kinney UK Entomology rieske@uky.edu
Beverly James Floracliff Nature Sanctuary bjames@floracliff.org
     
     
     
     
     

 

 

© 2013 Tracy Farmer Institute for Sustainability and the Environment